HQI: a hybrid HPC-Quantum platform and a research program

In January 4th 2022, one year after the National Quantum Plan was announced by the French President, Neil Abroug, the national strategy coordinator, launched HQI: France Hybrid HPC-QC Initiative.

HQI is an integrated initiative. It combines a hybrid computing platform that couples several quantum processors with GENCI’s Joliot-Curie supercomputer hosted at TGCC (CEA), and an academic and industrial research program with user enablement.

This HPC-QC hybridization is an innovative and unique initiative that will benefit from the renowned expertise of the CEA/TGCC (Très Grand Centre de Calcul) teams in infrastructure operation, security and support to the scientific community.

The HQI initiative aims at serving the needs of French and European, academic and industrial research scientists, who want to evaluate free of charge, on a public infrastructure, the potential of quantum computing for their applications and develop international collaborations to foster open research.

pasqal

© Pasqal

| IN A NUTSHELL >

A research and industrial research program that relies on a deployed physical national hybrid HPC-QC platform

Overall budget is €72,3M (Programme d’Investissements d’Avenir, also called PIA4)

Duration: 5 years

2 segments: acquisition and deployment of platforms; research program

| NEWS >

VivaTech 2022

France Hybrid Quantum Initiative (HQI) promotes its HPC hybrid quantum computing technologies for innovation

HQI : une plateforme de calcul hybride HPC quantique et un programme de recherche 

Le 4 janvier 2022, un an après l’annonce par le président de la République du Plan National Quantique, Neil Abroug, le coordinateur de la stratégie nationale a lancé HQI : France Hybrid HPC Quantum Initiative.

HQI est une initiative intégrée. Elle associe une plateforme de calcul hybride couplant plusieurs technologies quantiques au supercalculateur Joliot Curie de GENCI au TGCC (CEA), et un programme de recherche – académique et industrielle, et de dissémination des usages.

Cette hybridation quantique/HPC est une initiative innovante et unique, qui bénéficiera de l’expertise reconnue des équipes du CEA/TGCC (Très Grand Centre de Calcul) dans l’exploitation des infrastructures, la sécurité et le support aux scientifiques.

L’initiative HQI vise à servir les besoins des chercheurs académiques et industriels français et européens, voulant évaluer gratuitement sur une infrastructure publique le potentiel du calcul quantique pour leurs applications ainsi qu’à développer des collaborations internationales pour favoriser la recherche ouverte.

pasqal

© Pasqal

|  EN BREF  >

Un programme de recherche académique et industrielle s’appuyant sur une plateforme physique nationale de calcul hybride, HPC et quantique établie

Budget global de 72,3 M€ (programme d’Investissements d’avenir, ou PIA4)

Durée : 5 ans

2 volets : acquisition et mise à disposition de plateformes ; programme de recherche

|  ACTUALITÉS  >

VivaTech 2022

France Hybrid Quantum Initiative (HQI) présente ses technologies de calcul hybride quantique HPC au service de l’innovation